What’s In A Name?

Well,

I haven’t written a blog since August like tenth.  So there has been a lot that’s happened.  The obvious of what has happened is that I got a new blog completely.  Why?  Well a couple of reasons.  First – my blog’s name was Our Life According to Jax.  What is in a name?  Shouldn’t a name apply to you?  Well unfortunately my last blog had our blue heeler’s name on it.  Our blue heeler, Jax.  Jax got a little bigger than planned and in turn forced us to give him up to a nice family in High Point, Missouri.  So – I didn’t feel it appropriate to have his name in my blog name any longer.  Coming up with a name for a blog is not easy stuff, I’m telling you!  I played with a lot of names but I figured since this is my blog the name should reflect me.  My two favorite things right now – my grey suede boots and my milkshakes, haha.  Not only that, but a milkshake.  What does it take to make a milkshake?  Well minimally it takes some type of milk based product, and usually some ice cream.  But you can add so many things to it.  Ovaltine, chocolate syrup, banana’s, strawberries, even sprinkles.  Well, my family is kinda like a milkshake.  My family as in 3+1 of us.  There’s Me, who I would say is probably the milk.  I’m the base of the family that kinda keeps everyone else in line, then you’ve got the ice cream, my daughter, the ice cream comes second (she happens to come first) and add’s the sweet part that you can’t be without.  Anna’s the ice cream.  Then you’ve got Robbie.  I’d call Robbie the malt flavor, the part that brings the whole thing together and gives all the support to the ice cream and the milk.  Then of course you got the sprinkles.  The part that really may not even be noticed other than appearance right now but later, you’ll notice they are there once you start eating them.  The sprinkles – is the baby.  To those of you who are reading and don’t know, Robbie and I are expecting my second child and his first late March of next year.  The reason we all make such a tasty milkshake is because we’re all mixed together even though we didn’t originate in the same place.  So there’s the reason for my name.

Well, what have we been up to since August 10th?  It’s only been, what about 38 days so nearly 8 weeks.  Well, as I said above, I’m pregnant.  With my second child and I couldn’t be happier.  You know what question I love?  Are you getting married?  No.  Why does that have to be a consequence of pregnancy?  Am I getting married someday?  Yeah, I’m sure I will!  Am I marrying Robbie?  Yes!  I’m sure I will.  But how can we live in a world where things so widely unaccepted years ago like gay marriage and partial birth abortions are accepted by people but when you get pregnant- head to the chapel!  I’m not saying domestic partnerships and partial birth abortions are equal because they are not.  I am completely ok with gay marriage and in no way support abortion.  I’m just saying, in a world full of liberalism and freaking Obama, why would a liberal person tell someone they need to get married before having birthed the baby they conceived pre-engagment or pre-wedding if they aren’t ready to say I do?  Does it have to do with commitment?  No.  Not for me.  First of all, I don’t want to walk my fat pregnant ass down an aisle while our friends and family whisper about our motives.  Second of all, I’ve been divorced.  I’m not in a rush.  I want my wedding to be beautiful and country.  I will never stand in front of a judge and say “I do” again.  I want to save the ridiculous amounts of money it takes to buy the exact dress I want, I want the wedding I want and dreamed of and everyone knows they don’t come cheap!  I want us both to have the rings that although won’t be massive rocks they will be the ones we want to wear for the rest of our lives.  Among everything else, I just don’t want the stigma.  I would marry Robbie tomorrow.  I committed to loving him a long time ago and that didn’t require a ring or a piece of paper.  I know I’ll be with him for life and eventually, we will put that down on a contract so if I ever go into a coma he can decide to pull the plug or let me live.  But right now, we love each other and we don’t have to do the stereotypical thing and get married right now.    So, if you were wondering, wonder no more!  I am not marrying Robbie right now and my dad isn’t chasing him with a shotgun either.  Another question I get is did I want this baby, was it on purpose?  Well —- the long and short of it, It’s really noones business if I wanted, want it or if I got pregnant on purpose.  Assume what you will.  But first, ask yourself this.  Aren’t we two consenting adults who could choose or not choose to use birth control?  Also ask yourself, would two people unexcited plaster things about their pregnancy all over facebook and discuss with it friends and family in an excited manor?  So – if you have to ask, don’t.  Figure it out yourself.   I’ve been down this road before.  I’m a smart girl with a brain.  Robbie’s a smart boy with a brain and a beard.  You can think what you want with that, but Robbie and I both knew the outcome of our lifestyle and once we found out, we felt the way we feel.  So now that we got that awkward questions out of the way….

In other news Anna has begun swimming lessons.  Tonight is her 5th of 8th lesson and I have to say, last week she took a leap!  She went from like refusing to let go to swimming around with no help, I can’t wait to see the advances she takes today.  She really does amaze me.  As a mother, I love the feeling of standing back and letting her fly.  As difficult is it is at times, it’s worth it and totally amazing.

Also I got a new car!  Thanks to Robbie’s credit and his uncanny ability to haggle.  We got it for a good price and it’s such a cute little car!  A Kia Soul and I love it.  We got it right after our first ultrasound.  We traded in my old crappy Saturn that was having some pretty dangerous problems.  I personally think after seeing that baby on the screen, the cargo just got more precious but Robbie will never admit that to me.  Although its a standard, and I never thought I’d learn to make it…. well, move.  I love it and I actually love driving it.  Not to mention I am proud of myself for learning because that was one of the hardest things I’ve ever learned.

Other than that and my almost 12 week along pregnancy, that’s about all that’s been going on.  Look back for frequent updates.  I really am gonna try to keep this up, tata for now!

Leave a Reply

