Pregnant Chicken: 10 Things They Don’t Tell You About After Having A Baby

Well,
This is a new category, which I’m going to try to expand on my writing a little bit other than just talking about myself and my life because most people probably don’t give a crap about that.  I read a blog the other day and this is actually the reason I decided I wanted to get back into this.  It’s called “pregnant chicken”.  It’s this married mother of two boys who live in Seattle and cusses a lot.  Which I have to admit, I admire her for.  Not that cussing is good but she doesn’t really filter herself and I definitely do.  If you know me very well, you know I can potentially curse like a sailor but I’ve learned to filter myself having a 4-year-old around.  But yeah, she says what she thinks and I wish I could be a little more like that sometimes but I’m too nice and worry about offending people so I am very careful with what I say.  Anyways this cussing super-mom just really impresses me with the stories and such that she has.  I like reading what she says because well a) I’m pregnant and a lot of her articles pertain to me and b) when I read her articles and even her “about me” I feel like I’m talking to my friend and not reading a stranger’s blog.  The article that attracted me originally was the Happily After Giving Birth: 10 Things They Don’t tell you article.  You can check it out by clicking the link.
My favorite tip from that article is this one and I quote:

6. Breastfeeding might be difficult. If you choose to breastfeed your baby, be prepared for a little bit of work. Not everybody has a smooth ride (me included) and it can be anything the soft, bonding vignettes they plaster all over “Breast is Best” pamphlets. The good news is once you’re over the hump it’s pretty maintenance free and you can never forget your baby’s lunch on the counter. If you have an easy time of it, awesome! Don’t brag though, you’re liable to be beaten to death with Bugaboo strollers by hormonal mothers in the park.”
The reason I love this one is because of the stigma that follows breastfeeding.  So many happily breastfeeding mothers like to judge the ones who didn’t do it or even the ones who tried and were unsuccessful.
To elaborate a little further on her opinion of the subject I read the article August is BreastFeeding Awareness Month.  And I quote again “I’m sure you’re well aware that some people are very passionate about breastfeeding and I think that’s great, however, what I don’t find great is making someone feel shitty because they aren’t breastfeeding. If you can do it, go for it, if you can’t, no worries.”
I love her opinion on this because obviously, she successfully breastfed after a difficult time.  But what she is saying here is to not judge those who can’t.  And don’t beat yourself up if your one of those who can’t.  If any of you reading were very close to me during Anna’s first few days you remember how I struggled.  The very first time, she latched on with no problem and I thought I was a pro.  However, there’s a little thing called nipple confusion and also a little thing called hormones.  After the second time, the neo-natologist ordered me to supplement Anna’s feeding with formula because my milk hadn’t come in yet and she was nearly a 9 lb baby.  The next thing I know, the nursery was shoving binkies and bottles in her mouth every time she would cry when they had her.  This ticked me off a)because she should have been with me in the first place, they would take her for 3 hours at a time for bathing and tests and promise to have her back in 45 minutes.  b)and because the binkies had NOTHING to do with her nutritional well-being.  So mama had a c-section and the second I learned to scoot myself to the nursery, I did and would go and get her during feeding times.  But something changed.  Once she had that bottle from nurses and not me, she didn’t want to latch on.  Getting milk from the bottle was just way too easy and she wasn’t willing to work for the breast milk anymore.  So each feeding session would begin with her wrestling me, me crying and would end with me and a bottle, still crying because I felt like I failed as a mother.  Lord, did I cry over everything, but especially that.  When I got home from the hospital my milk started coming in, my boobs got hard and I needed relief.  So I got a breast pump.  Thinking the milk would come out like a water spicket.  Did it?  NO!  I pumped for an hour and a half and I got a half oz.  A HALF oz.  Anna was eating 3 ounces every 3 hours at that time.  So I packed up my pump, I went to the store and I stocked up on Enfamil Lipil.  For 3 days I breastfed with no milk for her, just the clear stuff they get initially for immunity.  And you know what?  Anna didn’t run her first fever until the age of 2.  So, I’m glad I did what I was able and this time— maybe I can get a little farther with the support of the nursery.

Anyways, she has a lot of great articles and if nothing else you’ll get a laugh and maybe learn something too.  You should check her out.  Til next time!

Leave a Reply

