The Day I Met the Wedge Salad

Image

There’s this little thing called a Salad Wedge.  I, being the out of the loop uncultured girl I am have never heard of a salad wedge until it appeared on Modern Family, like two seasons ago.  Anyways, when Robbie and I went on our trip last weekend I discovered on the menu of one of the places we ate a salad wedge.  In short a salad wedge is a lettuce wedge with ranch dressing poured over it, sliced cherry tomatoes, bacon bits and bleu cheese crumbles.  Bleu cheese crumbles I could eat by the gallon but anyways.  So I ordered this wedge and and this thing was WHOPPING large.  LIke it’s a quarter of a head of salad, maybe even a 1 third.  You think you can cut off chunks of the wedge with a freaking side of a fork but no, you have to straight up get your steak knife out and saw it like a piece of tough meat.  So when it occurred to me to write a blog about my experience with a salad wedge I decided to google it, and luckily, lunch is nearing because I’m seriously hankering for a salad wedge or something edible in general.   This salad that I ate was kinda the bomb diggity so I thought it would be nice to share….

It took me a bit because I couldn’t decide which recipe to use.  The wedge salad has many variations but with my experience I love the recipes from food.com and I’ll leave it here for you while I go have my lunch.  It has all this silliness about homemade dressing, I’d buy a bottle of hidden valley and call it good.  Also it wants you to cook 6 slices of bacon.  I, would just buy a package of pre-made Oscar Meyer bacon bits but that’s just the kind of woman I am.  If you have too much time on your hands and your really extra domestic you may wanna go homemade but I love me some Hidden Valley.  Hope you enjoy it!

Ingredients:

1/2 head iceberg lettuce, cut into a wedge
1 cup grape tomatoes, cut into halves
1/2 cup red onion, chopped
6 slices cooked bacon, crumbled
1/2 cup blue cheese, crumbled
1/2 cup pecan pieces, toastedDRESSING

3/4 cup mayonnaise
3/4 cup buttermilk
1/2 cup blue cheese, crumbled
1/4 teaspoon garlic powder
1/4 teaspoon onion powder
1/4 teaspoon black pepper

Directions:

1
Place lettuce wedge on a salad plate. Add grape tomato halves and onion on top of wedge.
2
Sprinkle with crumbled bacon, crumbled blue cheese and toasted pecan pieces.
3
Dressing: Mix ingredients and allow to sit for 30 minutes or more for flavors to meld. Drizzle on top of salad.
4
Enjoy!

Read more at: http://www.food.com/recipe/lettuce-wedge-salad-like-outback-315948?oc=linkback

Leave a Reply

