Ode to the Crockpot

Well, today before coming to work I took my frozen ham chunks and my beans that I soaked all night and I put it in the crockpot.  When I get home today, I will peel and cutup my potatoes to put in the skillet to fry/sautee.  Making those potatoes are super duper easy and they are amazing.  After that I will sit down with Anna, my good friend Crystal and her kids, Sebastian and Olivia and we will eat with very little effort put in by me or anyone else.

Last night, I opened a $1.50, 1lb bag of pinto beans to sort through them with Anna.  A good early memory I have of my mother and I, was sitting down with her and sorting through the pinto beans to find the bad ones so we could soak the good ones for the next day’s meal.  It sounds REALLY petty and no big deal to anyone but man to me, was it a big deal!  So everytime I cook pinto beans usually for Ham n’ Beans, I have Anna sit down and sort through them with me.  Even though some “good” beans end up going in the “bad bean pile”, I’m ok with that, because it’s not enough to make a difference and she really feels like she is contributing to our dinner (which she is) so I’m ok with it.

This post is about an ode to crock pots which are great for all mother’s everywhere.  I’m not talking about he crockpot meals that you have to start on high and turn them down to low because I HATE those.  I work.  I work full time.  One day I hope to stay home with my kids or at least work less hours or possibly even work from home.  But those crock-pot recipes that require you to do something before the 8 hour mark, kinda piss me off.  I’m talking about those meals that cook anywhere from like, 8 hours to 12 hours and still be good for the eating.  How awesome is that?  If we weren’t having potatoes tonight, I literally would have only spent about 10 minutes on the prep to a 100 percent homecooked meal.  With those beans, basically the only thing I didn’t do was harvest them out of the ground.  And the ham?  I didn’t even have to cut it up.  I already cut it and froze it like 2 weeks ago.  All I had to do was take the beans from the fridge, rinse them, put them in the crockpot, throw on some random seasonings, open the freezer take out the ham, open the foil and drop it in the crockpot, turn it on low and go.  I didn’t even have to plug my crockpot in because I use it so much it was already plugged in. 
The crockpot isn’t flawless however, there has been many times where I’ve cooked pork chops and other meats on low for 8 hours and they have burnt to a crisp.  I don’t know if the freaking thing, runs hot or what?  Does anyone have this problem?  I need some ideas for some nearly mistake-proof crock pot recipes.  I hear you can make lasagna and apple butter and all kinds of other random stuff that you would never expect, but how do I not screw it up?  The things that seem to cook the best are the ones surrounded by water because it doesn’t have direct contact with the burning hot dish.  Your  tips are welcomed and I hope you have some.  But…..that is my Ode to the Crockpot.

Now I wanna talk about something else real quick— I like to have readers.  I like to know that when I say something that someone is interested in what I have to say.  Because of this, I look at my stats.  Almost daily.  The stats does an interesting breakdown of the days of the week and tells me how many readers I have on a given day.  My blog is getting more popular which makes me happy, what confuses me on my stats is this though:

Now I am 100 percent ok with having readers from all over the country and world read my blog, but now my question is, who the heck lives in Belgium?  Dear Belgium Dweller, I’d like to know who you are, because that’s pretty freaking cool!  Til next time!

Leave a Reply

